Looks like~

A few posts ago, I posited the question “Should we continue to travel, or settle?

At the time of that wondering, we were in a long-term stay in Phoenix AZ.  It was a wonderful three and a half months there, filled with hiking, dinners, hooping, belly dancing, celebrations-with both family and friends.  (Our younger daughter Kamahooptra and her husband live there, and our older son Snads and his girlfriend).  Loved our time there!  I found my mojo again, which has been sadly absent, between dealing with Handsome Husband’s cancer, his systemic infection, my menopause-basically having the life sucked out of me.  But, its back-hallelujah and yay!  So, Arizona was reallllly good for that.  I spent so much time with Kamahooptra, brainstorming and creating for the business that we’re starting (Moonstruckgatherings.com), and loved every minute of it.  So much so that I got it in my head that just maybe I wanted to stay put, grow some new roots, and put the brakes on our traveling.

Not so fast!  We spent Saturday on the road again, leaving Arizona and pointing our SUV in the direction of Las Vegas, Nevada.  In the process, traveling  along Rt 74 to 60 and then to 93, we meandered through what always thrills me to no end:  IMG_9335IMG_9323IMG_9369This terrain will look stark and dismal, maybe, to those who like green and mountains, and cities and suburbs.  Me?  The very wildness of it feeds my soul and almost hurts my eyes for the beauty.  This West and Southwest stirs me to the depths of my heart.  I love it in every way, and I can’t conceive of not continuing to travel, so that we can see more of it.  Arizona. Nevada.  California next.  At some point, Montana and the Dakotas again.  Wyoming.  The terrain.  The history.  The aching beauty.  The wide-openness.  The skies that go on forever, along with the roads.  No, I’m not ready to settle down.  The thrill is very much there.  It felt so good being  back on the road again and that feeling will be there again tomorrow as we head towards Death Valley.  Wagons west again, folks!

PS.  These last few days have been spent with more members of our tribe; an Air Force buddy of Handsome Husband’s, (Wayne) and his lovely, oh-so-welcoming wife, Mona, and their sons.  Thank you for the welcome, the comfortable bed, the nourishing meals, and the jaunt into Vegas itself to see the scrumptious Chinese New Year decorations at the Bellagio!  IMG_9495IMG_9511

 

2 thoughts on “Looks like~

  1. Oh, don’t stop now. You are traveling for all of us who can’t do that now. Kind of like walking for someone who can’t walk, but both know that you are walking for for more than yourself!!!

Talk to me~

