Cancer Fucking Sucks

c546e580bdebada9bcb086fcfabe99a8

(from Rachael)

I just learned that the mom of my two oldest friends (sisters that I have known since the fourth grade) has been diagnosed with lung cancer. I grew up with this family. Their parents were like a second set of parents to me. I was their “adopted” third kid. Summers were full of swimming in their backyard pool, almost nightly slumber parties, roller skating, fashion shows, climbing up into the rafters of their garage, dinners, walks and bike rides, waiting at the bus stop together…the list goes on. Needless to say you can imagine how heartbreaking this news was to hear. Tears have already started flowing- some for me, but mostly for this wonderful family.

Cancer is not a death sentence for everyone. And I obviously wish the very best for them. I also understand the realities of this diagnosis. Even if the treatments work and their mom gets a clean bill of health, it does not change the fact that right now, it’s fucking scary as hell. I know because even though my story did not come with a happy ending, I still remember how it all felt. And there is nothing I can do for them to make it go away. All I can do is show them the same love and support that they showed me and my family when we were living and grieving through my dad’s cancer.

Family and friends (humanity in general really) react differently to this kind of news. Naturally people want you to stay positive and strong. Of course they do. Most have the best of intentions with Hang in there!, If anyone can survive this, (fill in the blank) can!, Think positive thoughts!. That’s all well and good, but you know what else  you need to hear? That this really fucking sucks. It’s not about pity, it’s about allowing them to feel whatever they need to without everyone else telling them to buck up. You know what I say? Cry. Scream. Be scared. Be hopeful. Cry some more. Talk it out. Write it out. Be with it. Go for a run. Pray if you pray. Dance it out. Blast some music to help drown out all of the thoughts that may be running through your head. Do WHATEVER you need to and don’t have any judgement about it. Know that everything you are feeling is OK and NORMAL. And don’t apologize for it.

However this all turns out, I just want them to know that I am holding them all in my heart. I am wishing them all nothin’ but love. I will be an ear for listening if and when any of them may need or want one. And I am pulling for their mama with every fiber of my being.

I love you guys. *HUGS*

5 thoughts on “Cancer Fucking Sucks

Talk to me~

