When Is Becomes Was~

He was an is.

Chuck, I mean.

Until he became a was.

As in he was my husband.

I can still say it in that manner, I suppose.

Is my husband instead of was my husband,

and I would still say that

except that

He is so gone from me.

He is dead, you know, though

it rolls more easily from the tongue to say

He’s dead, you know

Speaking it as a contraction.

Is is the present (and, oh, what a present it was, both in reference to time and gift).

Was is my past,

and, oh, how the history of true love is carried in those 3 letters denoting the past

my love his love our love

and how the grief of his death is carried in those same 3 letters

He is I am we are he was I am we were

Verbs and language and usage

I don’t need big words to convey the sorrow of my heart for

what was and no longer is.

 

Talk to me~

